Laureates chosen for Flemish Community Honours


The annual awards that recognise outstanding citizens will be handed out on Flemish Community Day

16 recipients

On 11 July the government of Flanders will once again award a number of outstanding citizens the Flemish Community Honours for their contributions to society. The date is Flemish Community Day, the annual holiday celebrating Flanders’ communities, cultures and history.

This year there are 16 recipients of the award. “Flemish Community Honours is a recognition of those who have contributed to the positive image of Flanders through their individual, exceptional talents,” said Geert Bourgeois as one of his final acts as minister-president of the region. “We want to give them this special attention on our Flemish holiday.”

Any Flemish minister can suggest a recipient. There is no prize money associated with the award; each laureate receives a statuette and a certificate. The honours will be bestowed at the annual 11 July reception at Brussels City Hall.

The 16 recipients this year are:

Harpist Anneleen Lenaerts (pictured)

Professor emeritus and historian Lode Wils

Melexis CEO Françoise Chombar

Former education secretary-general Georges Monard

Studio 100 founders Hans Bourlon en Gert Verhulst

Actor Chris Lomme

Dirk Rombaut, director of software developer Passwerk, which employs people with autism

Vincent Leus, chair of anti-drink-driving fund Emilie Leus

Paul Vande Walle, chair of OVK, which supports parents of children killed in traffic accidents

Jean-Pierre Van Baelen, chair of Olo children and family services

Jurn Verschraegen, director of the Dementia Expertise Centre

Ajit Shetty, honorary chair of Janssen Pharmaceutica

Soudal founder Vic Baron Swerts

Neurologist Bart van Wijmeersch

Professional cyclist Stig Broeckx

Professor Jean-Pierre Kruth, a world authority on 3D printing