Further one-week extension for De Wever


N-VA president Bart De Wever, the informateur in the formation of a federal government coalition, has been given an additional one week extension by the king to prepare a report

Government of Flanders talks in full swing

Bart De Wever, president of the Flemish nationalist party N-VA, has been given an extra week to investigate ways of forming a federal coalition.

De Wever was initially instructed by King Filip to come up with a proposal by 3 June, but was granted a further week to continue exploratory talks with the main political parties. The deadline has been pushed back again until 17 June in the hope that De Wever can broker a deal with parties on both sides of the language border.

De Wever is currently engaged in talks with the French-speaking liberals MR and the Christian democrats CDH with a view to forming a centre-right coalition. Both parties have said they are open to discussion, but each one has reservations. “The party hasn’t said yes, but it hasn’t said no,” said a leading Christian democrat.

Meanwhile, N-VA and the CD&V are moving rapidly towards forming a coalition government for Flanders. The two parties met yesterday in the elegant 18th-century Errara House in Brussels to discuss how they would hammer out government policy for the coming five years. The new coalition is expected to come up with tough austerity measures to deal with an expected government deficit of €1 billion in 2015 and €1.3 billion in 2016.

Photo courtesy n-va.be

Belgian government

Belgium is a federal state made up of three regions and three communities, based on language (Dutch, French and German). The federal level is responsible for issues such as justice, defence, finances and foreign affairs – matters that affect the entire country. Belgium is also a constitutional monarchy.
Regions - The regions are comparable to American states or German Länder. They are geographical entities, responsible for matters related to their territory, such as public works, environment and economy. Belgium’s three regions are the Flemish Region, the Brussels-Capital Region and the Walloon Region.
Communities - Communities are responsible for matters that directly affect residents, such as education, welfare and culture. Belgium’s three communities are the Flemish Community, the French Community and the German Community.
Flanders - Although regions and communities do not overlap exactly, the Flemish Region and the Flemish Community have merged into the Flemish government. Its official language is Dutch. The Flemish Parliament sits in Brussels, which is the official capital city of Flanders (as well as Belgium).

population of Belgium in millions of people, with 6.2 million living in Flanders.


number of state reforms that have resulted in the federal system as it is today.


number of years for which the federal House of Representatives and the Senate are elected.